Hi guys

I'm considering starting a coffee shop, in fact, sooner than expected I have found my venue, so I need to start getting things underway. I'm on a budget, aren't we all, but I'm very much of the mindset that I'd rather have second hand high end equipment, than cheap brand new stuff - in terms of coffee machines anyway. Grinders will most likely be new.

I want two three group machines, and at least two grinders. I had my eye on some second hand La Marzocco Strada's but I just don't think its sensible spending such a big chunk of my limited budget on machines. So I am now considering Synesso Cyncras as these are coming in at half the price. I have a company who is happy to install these for me and he's also wanting to do the water system. £2000+ VAT for an RO water filter setup to supply both these machines sound about right? Sounds expensive but to be honest I am very new to all of this and really have no clue what the costs are.

My shop will be very much focused on the coffee, it's not a cafe. We will of course sell some food and snacks but a select choice. So in terms of other equipment I expect to need perhaps a blender, a warming oven, contact grill, a chiller cabinet and a dish washer. No doubt there will be some other bits too.

So I guess what promoted this thread was the quote on the Reverse osmosis water filter system, but I very much welcome any help/advice/opinions that anyone has to offer.

Thank you.

2 * 3 groups seems like it would be overkill for most locations. How much coffee are you expecting to do?

If it's purely RO water, then that's not a good thing for the machines or coffee, you can have too many (or much perhaps) minerals and also too little. Sorry I'm not an expert but from what I've read you'd either ideally be using a re-mineraliser or having a mixture of RO and tap water to bring it up a bit.

Out of interest; Whereabouts are you looking to set-up (general area is fine, not asking for any secrets).