onyx

Time until extraction starts

Hi all,

About a month ago I joined the Expobar family by buying an Expobar Brewtus IV. I have no experience with espresso machines so the last few weeks were spent reading, watching videos and trying to get everything right.

How long should it take until the coffee starts to drip? In my case it's about 12 seconds since I raise the lever. Pressure starts from very low and goes to 9 bar before I see the first drop of coffee. I'm asking because I decided to buy the same coffee until I have more experience and I'm trying to get the shot right.

With 16g of coffee in the portafilter which came with the machine I'm aiming to extract 32g of coffee. I'm getting it in about 27 seconds which means coffee has been pouring for only about 15. As the taste is sour it makes me think of under extraction and see two potential issues: extraction starts too late or I have to grind finer and wait about 40 seconds after I raise the lever.

If 12 seconds is normal tomorrow I'll try a finer grind and wait longer.

If it matters, grinder is Eureka Mignon Mk 2 and coffee is the Espresso blend from Bella Barista. PID settings are the ones they recommend.

Usually if it's sour is because the water temperature is too low. Try increasing the temperature and/or grinding finer, and make sure the machine has been on for 40 mins at least.

Saying that, It may be that your distribution is off and your extraction is uneven. Make sure that the coffee is well distributed in the basket, sometimes grinding into a container and doing WDT first (whisking the grindings to mix them well). Also make sure that you purge a few grams before a session to get rid of stale grinds.

Edited by MediumRoastSteam

Time

From when you turn the pimp on . Not from When the coffee starts pouring Grind finer to try and obtain sweetness.

Or the pump if you wanna make coffee

Edited by Mrboots2u

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...

https://rjwinc.wordpress.com