Moor

New owner with some issues

Hi all, I bought a duo temp and a smart grinder about 6 weeks ago after 8 years of nespresso ownership and I'm having a few issues. All was going well to start, I bought a bag of pelican rouge barista blend beans and had reasonable results for a novice. I was using grind setting 5 and I was getting the hang of the machine and getting fairly good results, I finished the bag and bought some lavazza crema e aroma beans and that's when my main 'issues' started,?I cleaned out the grinder and refilled with the lavazza beans and pulled a shot, it dropped out about 2 teaspoons in 30 seconds. I have upped and upped the grind size so that I'm now on size 14 and get a reasonable shot. My concern is that I have upped a fair amount to get the same amount of coffee out and there must be a reason why. I am a novice and from the basic principles I have learned, slower output means the grind is too fine which I compensated for, what I'm unsure about is the fairly big increase in grind size between beans, is this down to a darker roast on the pelican rouge meaning the beans are dryer than the levazza or something else entirely?

I haven't got round to weighing or timing inputs and outputs yet, I'm more concerned with getting a decent coffee out but when I understand the variances and why they happen I will perfect a bit more.

It sounds like you're doing the right thing, if adjusting the grind is getting you closer to the kind of flow you expect.

It's worthwhile (if you haven't already) investing in some scales so that you can weigh the output of coffee as well as how long it takes.