Hi folks,

newbie here!..been browsing for a bit, this is a truly wonderful resource....!

...having "inherited" a Baby Gaggia from my son-in-law, I've been enjoying pretty decent home-made flat whites using quality pre-ground coffee, and am now keen to take the next step and start grinding my own beans.

I'm sure these sort of questions get asked all the time, so I won't be offended if no one replies - (apparently I need 5 posts to see the for-sales anyway!)

I'm really only a weekend coffee drinker and its generally just me, and very occasionally my wife, and can't justify spending hundreds of pounds on one of those nice grinders I see discussed here (though budget wise, I'd be prepared to pay around £200)....physical size is an issue too...

I'm probably answering my own question, but would you suggest a quality hand grinder is the way to go?

I'll pretty much only be looking for a fine espresso grind and would love to hear some recommendations.

cheers,

Des.

Pre owned eureka mignon? I love mine...

Gaggia Classic (Pre-Phillips) With Silvia Wand Mod

Eureka Mignon Grinder

+1 for a pre-owned Mignon. In busy weeks when I'm not working at home, often I end up drinking coffee only at the weekend and my argument has been even if that's all I'm drinking, I want to make sure it's a drink that I can lovingly and carefully prepare and enjoy drinking - so an investment in decent kit is worth it.

Hand grinding for espresso can be a little tiresome but it's feasible. I own a ROK espresso hand grinder which is intended for the purpose but as I "backed it" it took so long to come thought that I'd already moved on to capable electric grinders before it arrived. Anyway something like that or the Hausgrind/Lido E (espresso intended) or Lido 3 are all capable of doing the job but it'd annoy me a little too much to do it long term. That's horses for courses though.