Big Tony

A few questions - cleaning and minor upgrades

Hi all,

it's been a while since I was on so.....Hi :)

I've been using my rotary Brewtus for over 20 months now and wanted to just check I was doing the right things to get the best out of the machine. So firstly, my temp fluctuates depending on the coffee I use but if I'm not in tweaking mode it just sits at 95 degrees. I know the temp can be off and I still couldn't find the flash steam point even when I upped it to 102 degrees so any advice on that front would be appreciated.

my pressure is 9.8 bar when the machine is in action so it's probably running at around 9 bar in reality? Is that good?

I backflush weekly with pulfcaf and soak the screen, brass nut, gasket and wand tip in pulfcaf on a monthly basis. I use Ashbeck to fill the water reservoir and never use tap water.

Does all all of that sound ok so far?

I have NEVER de scaled :( as I've heard it's a nightmare. I didn't buy from BB so can someone pm me the de scaling guide so I can build myself up to the task :)

only other things I wanted to know we're whether other people had upgraded their machines with simple bits (not the joysticks as they're too expensive for me). I'm thinking IMS screen, wand tip etc... Can anyone link me the wand tip and IMS screen for this machine as I'll only mess it up if I guess myself. Other than that, anything else would be appreciated.

thanks

Tony :coffee:

Expobar Brewtus IV, Eureka Mignon and a wife who thinks I borrowed it all from Coffeechap :exit:

Mine already had the ims screen when I got it from yes row so can't really say about how it improved the cup. Just got the Alex duetto steam tips and playing round with the 4 hole and it's a massive difference in steaming a lot easier but also a lot faster. All in all two easy jobs ain't got the links but tips are on bella barista think there £25 for the set. Both mods easy to do and cheap so deffo worth it.