Sign in to follow this  
MarkT

Coffee scale and milk thermometer advice

Hi guys,

I'm looking out for Coffee Scale and Milk Thermometer for my Barista Express. Are there any particular ones that I should watch out for or any basic one would do. I'm currently using digital kitchen scale which doesn't have decimal points and its' a pretty basic one.

Also what other equipment should I get to maintain my machine please. Or a list of thing I need to do with my machine. Will following the instruction booklet that comes with it be enough?

As I'm still a newbie I need some guidance please. :)

many thanks.

mark.

Sage Barista Express, Aeropress, V60, Feldgrind, French press, Motta 53mm Tamper, 300 ml and 600ml Milk jug.

TempTags which can be ordered from @Glenn are a popular choice.

Depends how much you wish to pay for digital scales? If cheap and cheerful then circa a fiver off eBay. If you want waterproof ones then Brewista Smart Scales (check 'Deals' section as there's a place selling them for £30 delivered which is a tenner cheaper than CoffeeHit)

Linky

I have an Andrew James Milk Thermometer, it is a dial not digital and has a jug clip, and I have found it reliable. From their eBay site for about £4.50 inc P&P

I've been using the Brewista scales since Christmas, they're great, huge improvement on the hario ones I'd been using and the cheap ebay ones before that. They fit on the drip tray well and are quick to respond. There was about a 2g lag with the hario

DE1+, Monolith conical

Get a temp tag and then use this to practice how to judge the temp by hand alone

You will end up ditching the thermometer - it gets in the way of small jugs and milk wand

Scales -Barista - for the water proof alone they are worth the extra - you can get a platform to allow you to weigh the PF too as well as using them to weigh output

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...

https://rjwinc.wordpress.com

Instagram - rjw_inc