Hi Guys & Girls.

Looking at starting a new online business after I get back off my holiday in November.

I've been researching on and off for last 6 years but can't find anything that gives me

any real answers.

Does anyone know if I was to purchase bulk beans in kilos (already foil packed) opened

and repackaged as my own brand, is this illegal? The closest I've come to any information

was if I was to say it was packaged by "company".

Any advice ?

Thanks In Advance.

Hi Guys & Girls.

Looking at starting a new online business after I get back off my holiday in November.

I've been researching on and off for last 6 years but can't find anything that gives me

any real answers.

Does anyone know if I was to purchase bulk beans in kilos (already foil packed) opened

and repackaged as my own brand, is this illegal? The closest I've come to any information

was if I was to say it was packaged by "company".

Any advice ?

Thanks In Advance.

It's not illegal, but I think the labelling regs might require you to identify where it was roasted, they always used to, but things have become lax now. More importantly, if you buy bulk beans open them and repack them, they will stale pretty fast and their shelf life will be hugely reduced. In addition it's quite likely the coffee will be weeks old when you repack it. What date were you thinking of putting on the packaging>

Here is a better suggestion, rather than parasitically push shit into the market, why not add value and roast your own offering. What you propose to do has no added value at all and just takes more margin out of the product! This means to be competitive and make any decent profit you have to buy cheap coffee and mark it up, or you have to charge a lot more for your special "service" whatever that may be.

P.S. I speak from some experience of people doing similar things to what you propose. I was in contempt of the practice then and still am today.

Grrrrr!

Edited by DavecUK
It made me feel quite grumpy