Hi,

I get the feeling this is going to make me look daft!

I have just dismantled my Gaggia Classic and stripped it down. I soaked the boiler and Group Body in a solution of Sodium Hydroxide to clean it. It has come up beautiful. I also cleaned the bottom of the boiler to a nice smooth finish. I replaced the O ring and then reassembled. I took photos before I took it to pieces so I'm pretty sure all the wiring is in the right place. Happy to supply photos if anyone willing to help.

Once all back together I switched it on and instantly the power tripped as soon as i flicked the power with (the left hand rocker) the red light came on for a milisecond and then it tripped.

I am no engineer but i guess that it is the elements that are tripping as they are the first thing to power up?

Have I damaged the element/connectors using the Sodium Hydroxide? I didn't clock until too late that the elements where on the outside (don't please).

Is it a new boiler situation?

Many thanks for any expertise and/or advice.

John

Did you submerge the complete boiler in cleaner ? including the terminals ??

I think you should prepare yourself for a new boiler. The elements inside are surrounded by an insulating material similar to chalk, if you get this wet it soaks up moisture like a sponge, the moisture then short circuits the elements to the boiler body tripping the circuit breaker.

The only way you "MAY" be able to recover it is to place it in a warm oven for several hours, this may be sufficient to drive out the moisture

Before you do this remove the thermostats and any other attachments or you will destroy them.

If you do require a new boiler contact Mark== gaggiamanualserve on the forum. He will be able to help you.

Edited by El carajillo

There is a much easier way than sticking it in the oven. The only reason it trips is because there is a connection to earth.

Whip the top off and unplug the machine