NickdeBug

Sage DB or Rocket R58 - the Shoot Out!

The Italian Classic or the Australian upstart?

It should be noted that all the views below are entirely subjective and based on my own particular requirements, likes and general "feel".

I have been using the Sage Dual Boiler for a few months now and as I have become more familar with the machine, so the results have got better and better. I was pretty happy with my set up and no sign of upgraditus. But...

...I watched as new shiny boxes were purchased or traded and I looked at my ugly duckling and wondered. Just how would the Sage compare to one of the highly regarded European dual boilers.

I was pretty much resigned to keeping it at wondering when an opportunity presented itself last week. Call it a moment of weakness, but I had the cash spare and I was completely confident that I would be able to pass on either machine at purchase price, so I took an educated risk and purchased a Rocket R58 from Simon, a fellow forum member. It was a very enjoyable transaction for which I thank Simon and wish him all the best with his new machine.

So, I have had Thursday to Sunday to put the R58 through its paces and compare to the Sage.

Looks and Build Quality