Sign in to follow this  
Snaxmuppet

Plumbing in

I am looking to buy a Duetto and wondered if I should plumb it in. Of course, I read that once you plumb in you will never go back to reservoir but I am not particular good at DIY so I wondered if it might be a bit beyond me skill/comfort level? I have never done anything with water/plumbing before.

Of course I could get someone in but do I just get a normal plumber?

What do I need? A filter of course (thinking a Brita Purity C?) but will I need anything else apart from the piping? I am in a soft water area according to the water company web site and I can confirm this as none of my equipment firs up at all, even after a year or two of use.

Any advice would be very much appreciated before I buy :)

On the DIY front there are a couple of considerations, foremost of which is where the machine will live. You will likely need to have the same connections under your worktop as those needed by a washing machine or dishwasher, that is to say a water supply and a drain. Power is needed too but a pair of sockets above the worktop (machine and grinder) are as good as below.

It may be possible to utilise those same connections already in use if your proposed site for the machine is not too far away. The addition of a filter can also be a simple affair but you will need a few basic tools such as drill, adjustable spanners etc.

If you are not a DIY man then making the hole in the worktop to take the water supply, drain and perhaps power is probably something you may need to purchase a tool for.

Tell us how far away from these existing services you would like to set up then we can perhaps guide you through the work or at least make it clear to you if you need skilled help.

Answering your questions in order.

1. If you do not feel confident with DIY, I would not recommend you start with plumbing in a coffee machine (probably well beyond your comfort level)