Sign in to follow this  
LeeWardle

Domestic machine repeairs.....

Hi all,

As some of you may know I'm a coffee machine engineer. I've been lucky enough to work with most types of commercial espresso machine/beans to cup (authourised Jura technichian) /grinders and domestic espresso/beans to cup machines. (ranginf from Gaggia's/Silvias/Solis/Krups/Francis-Francis etc. etc.

My question is this:

If I were to start my own business repairing domestic kit is there a market for it? I wouldn't be charging loads and loads, and certainly cheaper than Gaggia. How comfortable are people with sending their machines via courier/Mail to be repaired?

I'd love to do this as a P/T business but as I'd need a small amount of capital for spares & insurence I'd like to get an idea if it would work!

Discuss! ;):)

Coffee consultant, barista trainer & technician based in North Devon!

Email me! Tweet me!

Call me! 07455 188935

Yes there is a market for it.

The keys to success (as I see them) are;

Being able to source parts for most popular machines - but having access to parts for a machine other service agents cannot readily access

Having a good, cheap, reliable courier service

Having a track and trace online service (so people can see what stage their service is at)

Offering a warranty for the machine post-service (eg a 3 month return to base warranty)

Just a few points to consider. Hope this helps

Home Barista Training - contact me to discuss your requirements

Before joining this forum I would have either sent a broken machine to the shop/manufacturers or scrapped it. With our throwaway culture, the repairs can exceed the purchase of a new machine.

My perception is now different and would consider such a service as yourselves, but I'm not sure about the general public.

Still learning on... Gaggia TS, Cunill Tauro, PTM Tamper, Motta Tamping Stand and Knock Box, Gaggia Milk Jug and fresh beans!