benjaminjamesmason

Do you add sugar or Sweetener to an espresso shot?

Hello,

This is my first post on this forum, so I hope I am doing everything correctly! :confused:

I currently own a Nespresso Citiz and Milk machine and I love it very much and naturally as this is my first machine, I want to experiment and try lots of different recipes.

It would be a fair comment to say that at the moment, whilst I do love a cup of coffee I am no taste professional. I am learning!

What I am wondering though is. Does anyone here reading this add any sugar or sweeteners to a freshly brewed short or lungo espresso?

In some ways I feel this is not normal, I do like to have sweeteners in my coffee but this tends to be only when mixed with frothed milk but not black. I tend to wonder by adding sweetness am I ruining the flavour as a whole of the shot?

I understand that it would be down to the individuals taste on whether you do or do not add to it. But it would be great to get a better understanding of peoples perceptions and opinions on this.

Thanks for reading my first ever post and I look forward to any replies and getting involved in lots of talk about coffee! :):coffee:

Benjamin

Hi and welcome. Don't think you'll find much sugar being added to espresso around here. Coffee has a natural sweetness that if extracted properly shines through.

Gaggia classic (OPV, steam wand and auber PID), HG one, hausgrind walnut, rattleware handle free, bottomless pf, 15g, 18g and 20g vst, torr goldfinger, 3 cup chemex, 8 cup chemex, 3 cup siphon, ceramic v60-01, kalita wave 155 and an aeropress.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I don't add sugar. Although I also use fresh ground and roasted coffee which will make a tastier espresso than a nespresso (IMHO ),

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...

https://rjwinc.wordpress.com

Instagram - rjw_inc