scottcolfer

Aeropress method: feedback please!

Is anyone about to get an Aeropress and looking to find out how to use it?

Or just looking to try out new methods?

I've been using an Aeropress for a couple of years now, and went to a coffee brewing masterclass last week so decided to pull together what I've learned so far in a blog post. If you have the time and interest to read it and let me know if it was useful it'd be much appreciated.

Here's the link to the post:

http://beanmeupscotty.com/2013/12/21/how-to-make-coffee-using-an-aeropress/

Key things I'd love to find out:

- did it make sense?

- any steps I've missed out?

- did it actually improve the flavour of your coffee?

Have a great Christmas guys!

I blog about coffee at BeanMeUpScotty.com

I use a Porlex grinder too, and find that 2 clicks from closed works for me. I use the inverted method.

i pour the water in, give it a quick stir, and put my cup with milk into the microwave for 30 seconds. Mug out, aeropress on, push.

Works fine for me that way.

I've also tried it as a basic pour-over with a coarser grind. Inverted to start with, then when I'm ready I put it onto the mug and remove the plunger. Coffee comes out quite quickly to start with, but then slows at the half-way mark.

Which method I use depends on what I am up to, and who else is around.

Cheers for the response Saftlad.

I was justing thinking of using it as a pour over, cool that you've tried it. What's the taste like doing it that way?

I'm just about to buy a V60 pour over so might try and comparison between that and an Aeropress used as a pour over.

Porlex - have you ever seen a website with suggested settings for different brew types? It'd be really handy to see what seetings people use for different methods.

Happy coffee making, Scott

Hi Scott,