almad77b

Hello from Scotland (Glasgow)

Hi all

I just wanted to say hello and that I hope I can learn lots here as I'm a complete novice but I do love coffee.

My journey started a number of years ago when I bought a built in 'Zanussi' coffee machine for my new house.

It looked very smart but it didn't make (consistently) good coffee, so much so that when I moved to a new house I decided not to buy a built-in Coffee machine.

Skip forward a few years and a lot of friends have 'Nespresso' machines and are raving about them, I had a taste of a coffee from a few and remained far from impressed.

I read something a month or so ago about Aeropress and I rushed out and bought one. I really liked it but something was still missing.

Before I know it, I'm considering a Gaggia Classic and then I started doing some reading and I couldn't believe just how much was involved in making a good espresso.

Grinders, tampers, distribution - arrrgghhhh!

I continued reading and watched lots of videos on Youtube and my initial proposed spend went from circa £200 to £700 as I had decided on the Silvia and Rocky grinder.

Yet more reading and some great telephone advice from Peter at Espresso Underground I find myself actually purchasing a Vario and Fracino Cherub...

I've had it a few weeks now and my technique is improving but I'm keen to learn more. :good:

You're on a very enjoyable journey - the thing about coffee is the journey is so enjoyable and there is no destination!

You are very welcome and I hope that you enjoy your time here!

David

An espresso machine and a grinder - who wants to read a whole list?

Welcome and nice first set up there ! Where are you getting your coffee from may I ask?

I write a blog, it's nothing to do with coffee ...

https://rjwinc.wordpress.com

Instagram - rjw_inc

thanks for the warm welcome David. I agree it is a journey and a most enjoyable one at that.

best wishes

Anthony