I have decided to take the plunge and finally buy an espresso machine. Having used a moka pot, cafetiere, drip filter and various other contraptions, I've decided it is time to furnish the kitchen with some eye candy coffee-making equipment.

As always, budget is a barrier. If it weren't, I'd by a Rancilio Silvia as what I want is a well-built machine that won't need replacing in a year or two. The Silvia looks brilliant. However I am unable to spend more than £150 (well, maybe a little more), therefore I have narrowed it down to:

Dualit Espressivo

Magimix L'Expresso

DeLonghi Icona

I have noticed a few other deals, reconditioned Gaggias and so on, but the three above are the most widely available and viable options to me. I think the Dualit looks the most sturdy (I studied it in the shop today), but the Magimix has 19 bar pressure and an in-built filter which I thought was pretty neat. The DeLonghi I'm just not sure about at all but I found a decent deal on it so it's up for consideration.

I usually drink espresso or Americano so the frother is of secondary importance. I'm not convinced I need to spend a fortune on a grinder so I'll stick with Illy and Lavazza ground beans most of the time.

Can anyone help me out with my decision?

I can only speak from my own experience, and it's vitally important not to underestimate the importance of a grinder. I sat for years with a Pavoni looking good but unused on my kitchen worktop because I could never get a decent espresso from it - using pre-ground. Then earlier this year I discovered what I'd been doing wrong, bought a grinder and haven't looked back since. And yes - I was totally sceptical about grinder importance until I tried it myself!

If budget's the issue, try looking for a hand grinder. Otherwise, if you're relying on pre-ground, it doesn't matter what espresso machine you buy.

For anyone who's interested, here's what I thought of the three machines I was looking at, and the choice I made!