Welcome fellow forum buddies. This is my first post on the site having just registered.

I am a coffee newbie, well, brand new to making espresso based drinks that is. I've sat and done too much research, watched too many videos then finally made a few purchases including a second-hand Gaggia Baby Twin with Silvia V1/2 steam wand mod and more than enough accessories. Only thing left is to buy a good grinder, oh and some coffee might help too!

I'll try and keep posts in their relevant forum, so will go off and post something in the Gaggia forum for tips my machine and in the grinder and wanted forums too as I am looking for a good second-hand grinder, which just leaves the coffee, any pointers gratefully received...

Hope you're all having a good day.

Hi Limes,

I'm new here too, but as you have a similar setup to me thought I'd stick me two pennies-worth in.

I also have a Gaggia (a Classic though) and have today managed to pull my first ultra-smooth, mottled-crema double. It was heaven! (damn, shoulda taken a pic!).

It's taken me three months to pull it off though and I bought a Mazzer Super Jolly off Gumtree for £175 before I got my Gaggia.

There are SO many variables it's rediculous and you can only progress successfully if you're hell-bent on success - cos there'll be loads of things that go wrong and don't make sesnse. BUT don't let that put you off! I got there and so can you...

Biggest tip I can give you to start with that made the biggest difference with my Gaggia was finding out at what temp it brews the shot. I'm not sure about your model but I'm sure it's v. similar to mine insofar as you have to flush water and wait for the ready light to come back on. I did this but my shots were coming out too sour with a light, one coloured crema indicating a too cool brew.

So, get yourself a styrofoam cup and a (food) probe thermometer and measure the temp of the water coming out of the brewhead.