Is it Advisable to buy a Gaggia at the moment?

Hi all,

I'm new to the Coffee Forums and absolutely love coffee. I've decided to buy my first reasonable starter machine and have decided on the Gaggia Classic. However, with Gaggia Uk (or parent company) having problems, is it advisable buying one at the moment and will it have a warranty? I know Philips have bought the company but I'm a little nervous that I may be left high and dry if there is a problem with the machine. Does anyone know the current situation?

:confused:

Thanks

Peter

Edited by cypress01

Hi Peter

Philips have taken over servicing as well as sales so no reason that I am aware of not to buy a Gaggia Classic at the moment.

If in doubt give Philips a call, their number is now displayed on the Gaggia website.

As Gaggia Classics are one of the most popular home espresso machines I am sure they will be around for a few more years at least. Parts are readily available once the machine is outside of warranty as well and there are a number of machine technicians who can service these machines for literally pennies (very competitive rates).

Home Barista Training - contact me to discuss your requirements

Hello Glen

can you give me some numbers for these technicians that service machines for literally pennies as i am interested in subbing out some of the dozens of machines that are turning up at our premises, also how do they get hold of spares for pennies as i cant, many thanks