I am new to the world of good coffee, I'm just looking at a grinder, hand or electric for £50 or less for use in my basic espresso machine or cafetiere for the moment,I'd like to spend more but can't afford it, and I think with limited funds a reasonable grinding and decent beans is the best route into decent coffee. So any recommendations welcome.

coffee machine I have is very similar to this, maybe the older model version.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B003UMHO8G/ref=mp_s_a_1_7?qid=1372891163&sr=8-7&pi=SL75

Hand grinder, porlex, hario skerton or hario mini. that'll do you for filter coffee, espresso it'll be something second hand but I really dont know of anything at that price I am afraid.

Lots of brewing equipment</A>

Unless you pick up an absolute bargain on gum tree I think you're going to struggle with getting an electric grinder for £50 even second hand. You could pick up a porlex hand grinder for about 30 new. Alternatively you could pick up a second hand MC2 for about £85 which would be an entry level grinder for espresso. Its worth spending money on a grinder

Sent from my GT-S5830 using Tapatalk 2

Sage DB; Mazzer Major; VST 15g, 18g & 20g Baskets;TORR Trapez & Perger Tamper

The grind quality from that Bodum one will be awful, and it probably won't grind fine enough for good espresso, unfortunately.

I'd go Hario Skerton! Can grind find enough to choke an 18g VST!

never used one but I think a blade grinder is bad. Burr grinder is much better for a consistent grind

Sage DB; Mazzer Major; VST 15g, 18g & 20g Baskets;TORR Trapez & Perger Tamper

never used one but I think a blade grinder is bad. Burr grinder is much better for a consistent grind

a blade grinder just chops up the coffee in uneven lumps, it's impossibe to get a reasonable grind on one if your hearts set on electric get the krups gvx2 it'll suffice for filter but it will become redundant as your journey continues into coffee