PDA

View Full Version : SJ sweeper vanes mod - best material/method?

pulck
23-07-17, 09:16
I know it's been posted about lots before, but what's currently considered the best version of the SJ sweeper mod?

I recently got my hands on a secondhand SJ for a good price. It's a big step-up from my Iberital MC2 - but straightaway I noticed the grinds retention. I've never tried modding a grinder before, but I thought this was worth giving a go. I don't want to attempt anything too difficult... preferably, I'd be leaving the bottom vanes intact as they look a pain to remove.

This post (https://coffeeforums.co.uk/showthread.php?12252-SJ-Whippy-Mod&p=103850#post103850) looks like a simple method, but the images are no longer available so I can't quite figure it out. And is cardboard going to need replacing very quickly?

I've also read posts that talk about using milk-container plastic or shrink-wrap? Do these require removal of the bottom vane?

The other mods I'm considering are:

- the collapsible lens hood mod (https://coffeeforums.co.uk/showthread.php?10044-Mazzer-micro-hopper-that-clears-the-exit-Shute-of-the-burr-assembly!) (I've got one on order)
- the egg-timer/cocktail shaker mod (but many of the posts are quite old so I haven't found something suitable to use yet)
- making a smaller doser chute from epoxy/milliput (as per this post (https://coffeeforums.co.uk/showthread.php?6005&p=42511#post42511) using clingfilm to make the chute removable). The thing that sounds tricky about that is drilling it out and sanding it to shape by hand.

I'd be really grateful for any tips, please... preferably tailored for a SJ newbie!

timmyjj21
23-07-17, 10:30
Start with the clean sweep mod and use nice quality cardboard, or I personally use milk bottle plastic under 3 sweeper arms.
the shrink wrap method is nicer, but requires more dissassembly and can be quite difficult. I couldn't get the doser apart on my machine.