PDA

View Full Version : Hello from London, need grinder advice

yossarian
11-12-13, 08:27
Hi there. I am a budding coffee enthusiast. I have been drinking french press coffee for the last two years using a hario skerton mill to grind the beans. I usually get them either from the London coffee shops (Ground Control, Tapped and Packed or Monmouth so far) or hasbean. A couple of months ago I got an aeropress because of all the hype. However I have found it a bit neither here nor there. Its handy for a quick shot before work but to get a weak double espresso sized drink it uses as much coffee as a whole french press and seems to give me much less of a caffeine hit. Also, it just doesnt taste as nice as that zing that the best fruity espressos have in cafes.

So I got a Gaggia classic off ebay for 65. I only got to try it out briefly before giving back to my relatives who are giving it to me for christmas.. I gather that the hario hand grinder is going to struggle to grind for espresso though, is that right? Its not the effort that bothers me, its if it doesn't taste as good. I have been scouring ebay recently trying to get something a bit better, hopefully for the long term. I was fairly new to ebay and kept thinking all those mazzer jollys were going to be overlooked and then seeing the price jump up at the end each time. So I can see that there is too much demand to get real bargains of the well know grinders off ebay. I don't mind paying a fair price as long as it lasts me and helps me get good results. I thought I would sign up here for advice and possibly for a good deal in the classified ads.